track day riders

Discussion in 'Ask the Exec!' started by andre331, Jul 24, 2015.

1. andre331

andre331 New Member

are the track day riders going to have to do any more safety prep than they normally do on our race day? I'm concerned that if they crash that oil and antifreeze will make our race day a lot less fun

2. Brett

Brett Twin Brothers Racing WMRC Exec

I believe they'll be expected to meet our track day requirements.
    I've been doing track days at Mission since 2006, if I recall correctly, I'm aware of one oiling incident. I don't believe it was a street bike that did it. No names... Parker?
    I for one welcome the hybrid riders, their attendance at our events supports our racing.

3. andre331

andre331 New Member

im glad the track day events are supporting our races too, but i think the track days should be on separate days, due to potential oil/coolant on the track, that being said I understand the hope that the track day guys see the fun that we have racing and join us as racers. is there any plan to take a survey of the track day crowd and find out if any are interested in racing? and if not, why?

4. seandcontracting

seandcontracting Smile!

I do agree with Andre about the safety issue. I concur that many of those street riders do not thrash their machines as mercilessly as the race bikes, but a missed shift at 16,000rpm and sometimes shit goes bang. But the rulebook/event is geared for safety so if a trackday rider wants to run on race days should they not run a pan and engine guards at least? If there has been only one oiling incident in many years, then why are we so worried about bellypans? Why bother at all? Of course, I'm biased because I have limited clearance with my belypan and would love to remove it lol. See you August 3rd!

5. Andrew Marles

Andrew Marles Moderator