"Take It To The Track" campaign

Discussion in 'General Racing Chat' started by spero, May 27, 2014.

1. spero

spero Team Modern Racing

I had a talk with Scott & Bez about this and decided to send the following email to the BC Minister of Transportation. Let's see what response we get...

Honourable Todd Stone,

My name is Spero Benias, I am a member and current #1 plate holder of the Westwood Motorcycle Racing Club (WMRC). We race motorcycles at Mission Raceway Park in Mission, BC. I am also a Track Riding Coach with the West Coast Superbike School as well as at Pitt Meadows Track Days.

As your office knows, so many BC motorcyclists are unnecessarily injured or killed attempting to push the limits or street race on public roads in our province every year, there is no reason for it!!

We as Racers and Trackday Riders feel that it is our mandate to promote our sport and get motorcyclists that street race onto the racetrack where it is a professional, controlled and educational environment. From our experience once a person has ridden a motorcycle on a racetrack for a trackday or race they have absolutely no desire to street race or push the limits on the street.

We here at the WMRC are wondering if there are any BC Government grants available so that we could do a "Take It To The Track" campaign. We are thinking items such as posters, billboards, print media, social media, and perhaps radio & TV news/ads. The idea is to make track riding the "cool" thing to do instead of street racing.

Here are the pertinent links for your perusal:

http://www.westwoodracing.com/
    http://www.westcoastsuperbikeschool.com/
    http://pittmeadowstrackdays.ca/

To date we have received interest in doing a news story about this from:
    Randene Neill, Global News
    Tony Parsons, CBC News
    Tamara Taggart, CTV News
    Alexandra Straub, The Province

Please have someone from your staff contact any of the following people at their convenience:

Scott Borthwick, WMRC President