SV & Novice Class

Discussion in 'New To Racing' started by brianp, Apr 14, 2010.

1. brianp

brianp New Member

Sorry if I'm beating a dead horse hear guys.

As of a few months ago I was lead to believe via the rulebook:
    7.1 Novice

? The purpose of this class is to give the beginning racer track experience under racing conditions.

? No points or other rewards are given

? All types of racing motorcycles are allow provided they conform to the rules in Chapter 5

? Formula 3, Formula 2, 650cc twins and vintage bikes are allowed to run their respective classes instead of the novice class.

As well as on the forum here that as a novice 650 rider I would still be in the middleweight twin class. Even though I'm a novice (which I understand would mean no trophy or points.)

But everyone I've talked since I've started the WCSS (assorted instructors, as well as I beleive Ken was at the tradex and I asked him) have said regardless of bike CC or bike type you run in the novice mock-race.

Is there one person I should talk to for the final judgement call on this? Just wondering before I start registering for the wrong things.

Again sorry for beatign a dead horse.

2. Brent 96

Brent 96 going nowhere...quickly

IIRC, the novice "mock race" is part of your day of training at the track with WCSS, and everyone has a go at it.

When you register for your first race day with the WMRC, you can enter your SV in Novice OR twins. I raced a few novice races on my SV and had a good experience because I had some people to race with due to our comparative abilities/times.

3. Dean

Dean Just a beer league racer