Running for president

Discussion in 'Racing at Mission' started by cookie, Oct 24, 2014.

1. cookie

cookie Two Smokin'

My name is Tony Cook and I'm running for president of our club.
    For those who don't know me, I've been around this club since the mid '80s as a fan and helping out a few friends who raced. Fast forward to the last few years and I'm still a fan, but I've also sponsored racers and the club and I worked in Tech. I'm 49 years old, married with 2 kids and own and operate my own construction company.

If elected my plan is to help our club grow and prosper by going back to the basics and running things like a business. I would implement a computerized bookkeeping system that would allow us to provide the members with an income statement and balance sheet upon request, if the members want it we'll attach it to the minutes of every monthly meeting.

I promise to run the clubs meetings in a proper manner. An agenda will be posted on the forum before every meeting. The minutes of the previous meeting will be read and discussed, moved and seconded. New business will be discussed and if a vote is required it will be tabled until the next month. This will go in the minutes and will be set in the following meetings agenda as old business so no one can ever worry that they didn't have a chance to discuss or vote on an issue important to them.

I promise to be accountable to you the members. I will listen to your concerns and act on them. We are a small club and there is no reason not to be accommodating and inclusive. The president of this club is only a caretaker, operating the club on behalf of it's members.

I want to return the club to it's roots as a social venue as well. Let's get back to having fun in the pits, lets get together for a barbeque the Saturday night of a double header, I want to have some organized fun together in the off season. We all love racing lets celebrate that.