(2) Questions - Race fuel & trackside power

Discussion in 'Tech Area' started by Jesse16, Mar 28, 2016.

1. Jesse16

Jesse16 New Member

Hey guys,

Newbie here. Did the racing school last summer & one (very wet) track day in September and got myself hooked good and proper, so I went out and bought a track bike from the states around October.

2 things:

1. I've got some chickenhawk tire warmers that I'd like to use - am I correct in believing that generators are the only source of power out there? I didn't really pay attention last year - the tens upon tens of bikes distracted me thoroughly.
    If so, any recommended brands? I'd go with a Yami or Honda, but I don't really want to remortgage my house :banghead:, so I was thinking a Kipor inverter gen set.

2. Race fuel! Where do you get it? Is there some magical fountain of high octane fuel everyone dips their tanks into that I don't know about?! Best bet I've seen so far is ordering online from VP Race fuels.
    On the racing fuel note...I have a supersport build 2005 GSXR 750. I probably should have figured this out before I bought it, but it requires a ~100/93 octane mix at 50/50, and I'm not entirely sure exactly what I want to be putting in there.

Is there an 'old faithful' fuel type/number that is generally the go-to? I had no idea race fuels had so many different permutations (oxy/no oxy/lead/no lead/essence d'unicorn etc..).

Thanks!
    Jesse

2. Ryan Whittle

Ryan Whittle Rider of Orange V-Twins

I've got the non-inverter champion that has been going strong for almost 10 years. It's loud and heavy. I would suggest the champion inverter from Costco. because, Costco.

Race gas is the domain of Mr. Marbod Kern of Mspeed. He's at the track often huffing the go go juice. For cheap insurance against detonation, you can run C12 mixed with pump gas. Unicorn tears gives better throttle response, but isn't supersport legal.

3. tt600

tt600 New Member